NCSU Libraries

Front view, Rugby Grange, Henderson County, North Carolina

Rugby Grange (Fletcher, N.C.)
Normal spinner 196px

Item information

Title:
Front view, Rugby Grange, Henderson County, North Carolina
Topics:
Architecture
Subjects:
Italianate (North American architecture styles)
Farmhouses
Original Format:
Color slides; scale: undetermined; 483mm x 610mm
Item identifier:
bh0173pnc001
Created Date:
circa to
Created Date:
circa to
Created Date:
Description:
Provenance: William Heyward, first owner; Gustaf Westfeldt (retired Swedish businessman), second owner | Architectural Note: The house was unfinished when the property was acquired by Westfeldt in 1868 and was completed sometime between 1868 and the 1870s. Westfeldt added outbuildings over the years for his large farm. | Historical Note: The home is one of several mid-nineteenth century stone buildings in the picturesque mode in this area. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Genre:
Architectural photographs
Location:
Henderson County (N.C.)
Digital Project:
Built Heritage

Source information

Repository:
Preservation North Carolina
Collection:
Preservation North Carolina Historic Architecture Slide Collection, 1965-2005 (PNC slides) held by
Note field:
Not all materials from the physical collection may have been scanned. Images may have been enhanced for web access.
Rights:
Reproduction and use of this material requires permission from Preservation North Carolina. For general information see the Preservation North Carolina website (http://www.presnc.org).
Funding:
Digitization of this image was partially supported with federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds made possible through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the Department of Cultural Resources.

Building:

Built:
Community:
Fletcher
State:
North Carolina
Provenance note:
William "Tiger Bill" Heyward, first owner; Gustaf Westfeldt (retired Swede businessman), second owner
Architectural note:
Initial building took place approximately between 1954 to 1861. The house was unfinished when the property was acquired by Westfeldt in 1868. The home was finished sometime between 1868 and the 1870s. Westfeldt added outbuildings over the years for his large farm. Main structure is of local limestone, has galleries on all sides, and is wainscoted throughout.
Historical note:
The home is one of several mid-nineteenth century stone buildings in the picturesque mode in this area. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Location:
Fletcher (N.C.)
Subjects:
Housing, Single family
Houses
Outbuildings
Farms
Stonework
Historic buildings
National Register of Historic Places
Limestone
Wainscoting
Galleries (Upper level spaces)

✓ Give us feedback