- Proposed Additions to Marshall Academy - Marshall N.C--First Floor Plan
Buildings -- Additions -- Planning
- Original Format:
- 10 3/4 x 17 _
- Item identifier:
- Smith and Carrier more info on Smith and Carrier
- Created Date:
Design and construction documents
- Digital Project:
Beaux Arts to Modernism
- Asheville Art Museum
- Richard Sharp Smith Collection (aam_RS) held by Asheville Art Museum
- Note field:
- Not all materials from the physical collection may have been scanned. Images may have been enhanced for web access.
- Reproduction and use of this material requires permission from the Asheville Art Museum.
- Digitization of this image was partially supported with federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds made possible through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the Department of Cultural Resources.
- Proposed Structure
- North Carolina
- General note:
- The Marshall school, (originally known as Marshall Academy), was built in 1895 and was located on the hill above the Madison County Courthouse, (record RS0197). The building burned in 1918 and was rebuilt as a block structure at the same location. In 1926 the school was yet again rebuilt, this time with a new name and location, (record RS0198). Marshall High School's unique location, (on Blannahassett Island, located in the French Broad River at Marshall), gave the school the unique distinction of being the only school located on a uninhabited island in the United States. In 1974, Marshall High School consolidated with the other Madison County high schools, (Hot Springs, Laurel, Mars Hill, and Spring Creek), to create Madison High School. Today the the Blannahassett Island building serves as Marshall Elementary School. http://go.ncsu.edu/madisonhs_briefhistory, http://go.ncsu.edu/nrhplistings_madison, http://go.ncsu.edu/marshallschool_history