NCSU Libraries

Twelve winners of tractor maintenance program attending the National 4-H Club Congress

Normal spinner 196px

Item information

Twelve winners of tractor maintenance program attending the National 4-H Club Congress
Community and Extension
4-H clubs -- United States -- Congresses
Original Format:
Black-and-white print (photograph); 8 x 10 in.
Item identifier:
Created Date:
Typed on verso: Al 16949-13 35th National 4-H Club Congress, Chicago, Nov. 25-29, 1956. Each of 12 national winners in the National 4-H Tractor Maintenance program received a $300 scholarship from one of the eight oil companies sponsoring this activity: American Oil Co; General Petroleum Corp; Pan-Am Southern Corp; Standard Oil Foundation, Inc; Standard Oil Co. (Ky.) Standard Oil Co. (Ohio) Stanolind Foundation, Inc; and Utah Oil Refining Co. Winners are (front, from left:) John Etsler, Troutville, Va.; Lawrence A. Duewer, Auburn, Ill.; (seated on the tractor) Chris F. Holtsmann, Jr., Ridgeway, N. Car., now in the Navy; Claude J. Phillips, Amsterdam, N. Y.; Anthony Tanner, Billings, Mont,; Francis Boston, Jefferson, Wis.; Robert Carvelho, Hanford, Calif.; John Meikle, Jr., Hunter, Okla.; Ed Murray, Lakewood, Colo.; Darrell D. Bringelson, Armour, S. Dak.
Group portraits

United States
Digital Project:
University Archives Photographs
Green 'N' Growing

Source information

Special Collections Research Center at NCSU Libraries
National 4-H Congress (UA023.008.045) held by
Note field:
Not all materials from the physical collection may have been scanned. Images may have been enhanced for web access.
For questions regarding copyright and permissions, please refer to our Reproduction, Use, Citation, and Copyright page (
Digitization of this image was partially supported with federal Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) funds made possible through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the Department of Cultural Resources.

✓ Give us feedback